Thread Catcher

I hate the way little snipped threads tend to gather around my sewing machine. They get stuck to everything and drive me nuts so I finally decided to do something about it.

It started out simple. Just a circle and a tube with some interfacing to make it stand up. I traced a random toy laying around for the circle bottom and then measured the circumference to create the tube. After sewing the tube together I realized that I had measured wrong and my circle was too small. I didn’t really want to start all over and scrap the lovely tube, so I set out to determine the radius of the tube so that I could create the correct circle.

Math.

Not. My. Thing.

In fact, let’s not tell any of my former math teachers that I actually succeeded at this endeavor. Most of them wouldn’t believe you! I recall a middle school teacher once finishing the lesson and immediately turning to me, “Ok, Holly, what don’t you understand?” It was a rare day indeed as I did understand the lesson, but it took several minutes to convince her!

However, I am determined that my kids will not be bad at math. I don’t want them to know that being bad at math is even an option, so I have to tackle these things with a smile on my face.

Here’s what I ended up with.

Image

The fabric is from Heather Bailey’s Nicey Jane collection.

Image

All those lovely threads and scraps out of the way.

The lining is just some cheapo cotton from JoAnns.

Image

I added a little ribbon loop to the back so I can hang it, but I’m not sure if I actually will.

Image

And the bottom. Not perfect, but I don’t think It will be getting a lot of viewing.

Leave a Reply

