Circle Skirt

I found this baby circle skirt tutorial on MADE. It’s fairly simple, except for the waistband. I made one for my coming daughter and sized the pattern up to make one that will hopefully fit my niece later into the summer. That whole sizing up thing involved a good deal of- gasp- math! I managed, or at least I think I did. We’ll have to wait and see if it fits her!

Image

The issue with the waistband is that the lines in the elastic show even the slightest veer off of a straight line. I can’t stand wonky. When attaching the skirt to the waistband you are trying to get the fabric sewn on evenly on the underside while also keeping a straight stitch on the front side and of course dealing with the stretchy elastic. Despite lots of pinning and numerous attempts it just wasn’t working. I ended up doing a zig zag stitch which looks better but still not great. Here’s one of the worst sections.

ImageAnd this is about as good as it got.Image

On my niece’s skirt I decided to stitch the waistband and elastic right sides together. It ended up looking far better, but I didn’t get a picture before passing it on.

The fabric on this is from Anna Maria Horner’s LouLouThi collection. It’s a pretty large scale print which I love. The larger scale combined with the variety of color combos in it gives lots of options when you are cutting it up for little people clothes. In fact, the baby gown (post coming soon) is made of this same fabric.

The elastic came from Joann’s. They carry it in several colors.

Image

When I was doing that whole sizing up thing I remade the pattern in 4 different sizes so I would have options. Now that I’ve actually made it I’m not sure if I’ll make more of these or not. We’ll just have to see how much I love it actually on her. Seven more weeks! Or if she’s like her brothers… eight… or nine!

One thought on “Circle Skirt

  1. Pingback: Circle Skirt Outfit | Under the Beech Trees

Leave a Reply

